Daily Prompt: Greetings, Stranger

“I’ve been looking for you”

For years I felt that it had always been me. Me to take care of my business, me to seek the truths, me to balance the rights from the wrong, me to control my life. My victories and my wins – they’re all because I strived and worked. My defeats and my disappointments – because of my procrastination and neglect. I was alone. That I believed.

No higher power to cling to. No faith in someOne more in control.

I thought He left me in the wilderness when wolves guard my paths. I thought He abandoned me when evils are on a hunting craze. I thought He deserted me when I all I ever needed was His wisdom. I thought He ditched me because I’m a sinner and unrighteous.

But He was in fact searching me. Like a shepherd who lost one of His flock, I was the one He searched and left His ninety-nine for. I was the one coin the woman lit a lamp, swept the floor, and seeked diligently for. I was the brother about whom He said:

“But it was appropriate to celebrate and be glad, for this, your brother, was dead, and is alive again. He was lost, and is found.”
— Luke 15:32

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Greetings, Stranger

  1. I think I followed a similar path as you. But like the father of the prodigal son, God never took His eyes off the horizon. And when He saw me finally turn towards Him and start walking to Him, He ran to me. I’m so grateful. And thanks for the thoughtful words.

    1. Thanks for that testimony, brother! God embraces sinners! We only have to acknowledge the fact that we were filthy and need a saviour and that’s Him!

Leave a Reply

