Daily Prompt: Zoltar’s Revenge

My daughter recently aced her Kumon diagnostics test and is well on her way to taking pre-K math sessions in a couple of weeks. This excites our household as, outside of Christian Kids’ Church she attends to every Sunday, this will be her first experience of school – ish really, because Kumon is principally an after-school activity, but still. We figured this will prepare her and in one way or another, make her one step more advanced than others as she enters PreSchool.

This makes me think of my own early school days too, and somehow I would think that what if, say, my 31 year-old self would enter fifth grade in the body of a 12 – year old, how should I survive?

via Google images
via Google images

Hmm… 

Math – long division and multiplication of vulgar fractions and decimals, ratios and percentages, maybe even pre-Algebra. I think I’d be quite okay as I have my engineering background. But when I think about it, I barely survived my bachelor’s course with a calculator, so I don’t know, maybe good luck? And to be truthful, only the word vulgar got my attention, so yeah.

Language – Oohh, grammar. Not that I’m bad at it, I just have this occasional unfortunate encounters with verb tenses. Nineteen years ago, I passed that school subject so I don’t think I should worry, right? Or maybe, I have passed it?

Physical Science – Well, hello there states of matter! I took 6 years of nonstop elementary and advanced chemistry right after high school! So step aside lowlives, here goes Einstein!

Wait, there’s a fourth state of matter? And a fifth too?

Music – Nerd alert! I am skilled in recorders (flutaphone, I know I was a super dweeb, don’t judge)! Want a sample of Titanic’s sob score instrumental?

Health Education – The birds and the bees, the stork carrying cute little Corey? Everyone knows 12-year olds buy these, but really? Birds?

4 Replies to “Daily Prompt: Zoltar’s Revenge”

Leave a Reply

