Weekly Writing Challenge: Build Your Own

credits to Cheri Lucas Rowlands/The Daily Post
credits to Cheri Lucas Rowlands/The Daily Post

I had been here before, a long time ago,

When innocence ruled me and naivety I show

When dreams were impossible, where simplicity’s the life code

All housed in a primitive, rudimentary abode.

 

I didn’t stretch out my hand to reach for the stars

I didn’t explore the horizon, didn’t travel far lands

I was content as a boy, in one hand were candy bars – 

On the other were books, my brain tried to understand

 

Dreadful as I was, I had to pack my things and leave you

Sure, it wasn’t easy,but opportunities were few.

Armed with hope and aspiration, I traverse my unknown fate

Reminded of your promise, you will to me wait.

 

Now that I’ve grown, and made a name of my own

After overcoming struggles, every stick and every stone

The cool winds I miss, I pine for the clean shores

Fuzzy traffic I despise, hazy atmosphere bores.

 

Anticipation sorely dwells as I get near you again

For years I’ve waited, I just want to get off this plane!

My dear hometown, I know, it’s been awhile and I’m sorry

But in your arms, I am again, now I never have to worry.

3 Replies to “Weekly Writing Challenge: Build Your Own”

Leave a Reply

