Daily Prompt: The Name’s The Thing

Have you ever named an inanimate object? (Your car? Your laptop? The volleyball that kept you company while you were stranded in the ocean?) Share the story of at least one object with which you’re on a first-name basis.

I bought myself a Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 about a year ago to reward myself for working hard and to bring myself to mobile reading using epub files, pdf’s and the likes. I named it Tabbie – kind of a no brainer really haha Tab – Tabbie, but you know, easy to remember. 

I’m not the kind who would usually name my gadgets to show how dear they are to me. But Tabbie was very useful. It had a nice camera – we even used it more than our iPad camera. It had a good amount of storage, and was handy as an e-book reader. It ushered us to the wonderful world of Google Play and made us experience the flexibility of the Android environment. A couple months ago though, we’ve decided to consolidate our gadgets and just keep those we actually need. A smartphone for each of us – my wife and I; an iPad for our daughter to make her play some nursery games and kiddie brain trainers, and a laptop for professional purposes. They should be enough. I’m thankful I got to use Tabbie to its full capacity before letting him go.  And I know it sounded weird me addressing the gadget like a real person by using “him” but you know I believe that sometimes, regarding gadgets as such somehow compels the owner to use them with care. And I think they deserve that given that they make our lives easier. 

One Reply to “Daily Prompt: The Name’s The Thing”

Leave a Reply

