Daily Prompt: Matters of Taste

So recently, at my wife’s persistence, we got ourselves a copy of the Divergent Digibook, only after a couple of days it was released. Me and my wife are fans of YA-books-turned-to-films and Divergent is definitely on top of la wife’s list. 

via Google Images
via Google Images

The 2-Disc DVD contained a lot of bonuses – BTS clips, music videos, featurettes on how the entire film was produced. The music, the scoring, the fashion, the production design – the DIvergent team gave us a glimpse of how it is when you’re behind the camera and/or when you’re manning the graphics room. After about three  hours of watching all of its contents, I was enlightened on how much effort the studio has exerted in producing such movie. I can’t help but think of all the the Tomatometers, all the Metacritics who mercilessly judge these films immediately after they are released. I was left thinking “these critics have the audacity to say bad things about these movies when people worked hard for it, when people spent so much time and energy in making it!”

But then again, I got to thinking, everyone has a job. And that is their job.

I guess after that, I silently made a decision to give every movie a chance and try to see them for their strengths instead of their weaknesses. 

So today’s prompt is a ‘lil bit difficult for me considering my recent change in perspective but I guess, I’d still go for it:

When was the last time a movie, a book, or a television show left you cold despite all your friends (and/or all the critics) raving about it? What was it that made you go against the critical consensus?

I guess I’d have to say The Walking Dead.

via Google Images
via Google Images

I’m a considerably easy-to-please person. Even when it comes to pop culture, anything that’s current, anything that’s mainstream, I’d be cool with it. I mean I watch TWD too, but not religiously. I have copies of the first and second seasons but I’ve only watched them once – unlike my favorite shows that I’ve watched more than three times – at the very least. I’ve totally missed Season 4 – only watching bits and pieces of it when I get a chance and see them playing on TV. 

Sure, it has the elements of a becoming an audience-pleaser. Zombies are pretty much still “in”. I’ve enjoyed World War Z so much.  Warm Bodies took a lighter, more comedic take on the zombie genre and was also a hit for me. With TWD – you put a little suspense, some bad-ass fight scenes, and sure is a winner in the ratings game. Not to mention that critics are raving about it too.

I don’t know but on a number of times that I watched it, I got sleepy. I got a little bored. Dismembering and butchering the undead sure is exhilarating at first, but really, it tends to get old when done every so often. And the characters are quite boring for me and are not multi-dimensional, in my opinion.

I don’t know. I guess I’m just for something that inspires me rather than something that would only give me a suspenseful experience. But then again, truthfully, it’s only a matter of taste.

2 Replies to “Daily Prompt: Matters of Taste”

Leave a Reply

