Daily Prompt: Second Opinion

If I’m going to be the in the Divergent world, I’d be in Abnegation.

Not really because I’m selfless. Well, I can be, sometimes – but not always. I’m a stiff. I don’t consider mirrors a necessity. I can look at them once a day and I’ll be okay. I am repulsive to vanity. I am not that confident when it comes to how I look. That’s why:

What are some (or one) of the things about which you usually don’t trust your own judgment, and need someone’s else’s confirmation?

That would be when it comes to personal style and grooming.

I’m a shirts and jeans guy. I can’t recall how many times I’ve created a blog entry on how I don’t particularly care how I look. Truthfully, I was in the leadership team of my previous organization yet I look like I can be a member of the facilities team. I’d pull a checked shirt and match it with my stripes shorts, and my wife would marvel at how devil-may-care I’d strike a pose even when I violated a mortal sin in the design world.

So yeah, starting a couple of weeks ago, I’ve entrusted to my wife’s style-meticulous eyes the kind of shirts I should choose, the style of jeans that fit my weight class, the type of haircut I should sport – the whole nine yards!

So far, so good. Her taking over has only made me look better and I can’t really complain. Hey, that doesn’t mean it makes me less of a man taking personal style advice from my better half. Let’s just say she’s better at that. And I’m eternally a washout in this sphere.

Leave a Reply

