Daily Prompt: Think Again

Tell us about a time you made a false assumption about a person or a place — how did they prove you wrong?

I used to not like Japanese food. I avoid all sorts of Japanese restaurant because I feel like eating Japanese is nothing but a waste of hard-earned money. I don’t like that strange aftertaste when you eat a maki or a sashimi. I hate wsabi! It’s weird to be eating raw and wondering if you’d actually be able to digest it without getting an ouchy tummy.

I think the more I avoid these restos, the more I get less inclined to changing my preference. I think that’s the problem when one has prejudice over something and refuses to actually experience it before making a conclusion – you don’t get  a chance to see the other side.

When wife first brought me to a local Japanese fast food, I was at first hesitant because, again I have my own partiality on the matter. I guess since she likes it, I’m just gonna go with it so I don’t deprive her of her favorites.

Little did I know that this would make me sway to a different direction!

I don’t know how and why, but I just liked it. Really, genuinely. We ordered a bento meal, we coupled it with a few california maki‘s and capped it off with an Asian red tea and I was just pleased. In fact, I wanted more and from then on, I decided to try all other Japanese restos offering Japanese delights around the metro.

IMG_5296

So that’s how my love for Japanese food story happened! See that photo above? I don’t think I need to say anything more. Looks sumptuous, right?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/think-again/

5 Replies to “Daily Prompt: Think Again”

Leave a Reply

