Daily Prompt: Missing Sequels

Okay, I have a confession to make.

I’m a guy who’s into chick flicks! No judging, okay? They relax me and make me feel calm. Not to mention that oftentimes they’re funny and they tickle the funny bone in me. Don’t get me wrong. I still want a dose of the Whedon_dom flicks twice, maybe thrice a week. A few of those mma-inspired and sports-themed films can fuel my gusto for adrenaline rush too . But if I want something that would not stress me out – a little Reese or Emma or McAdams should do the trick.

So for today’s Daily Prompt:

If you could create a sequel to one favorite (standalone) movie, which would it be? How would it build on the original?

I’d pick 13 Going on 30.

credits to http://image.tmdb.org/
credits to http://image.tmdb.org/

I like this film for alot of reasons. I’d mention two to keep this short, a’ight?

First, Jennifer Garner. She may be a mom and all these days, but I think you’d agree with me that she’s one of those flat-chested girls guys would daydream about.

need I say more?
Need I say more?

Also, the 80’s vibe! I’m a self-confessed 90’s guy but the music of the former is the shiznit! This movie’s OST is filled with MJs, and Whitney’s and the Benatar’s and you know, it just makes you remember when Casio was the bomb!

So why I want a sequel for this?

I think it might have been cool if they did something that’s kinda like a fastforward for a sequel. Maybe 10-15 years after the ending of the first movie? This would mean a story about Jenna and Matty’s first decade as a married couple, perhaps a new, revived career in a fashion magazine or maybe her business partnership with her photog hubby – add a little conflict and we’re good to go. Also, since its several years after, it’s no longer the 80’s. Let’s infuse it with the music of the boybands, the girl groups, the alternative bands and the divas of the 90’s and perhaps, the naughties. Quite interesting, don’t you think?

Still thinking of a title, so I’ll get back to you on that when something catchy comes up. ;p

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Missing Sequels

Leave a Reply

